Poets logo

Sleepy Toby

Also For Nora

By Roy StevensPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
He's a big, big boy!

Toby sleeps and he sleeps and he sleeps

He sleeps even more than his peeps

Sometimes when he wakes up

He forgets to eat his sup

And he falls back to bed in a heap!

****Toby was another feral cat living around our backyard who I gradually got to trust me enough to let me feed him. One cold evening a few Novembers ago he was gobbling away, and I sat down on a step with my back to him. Suddenly I felt something rub along my back and you guessed it, it was Toby being so brave that he touched the giant human who was trying to make friends with him. This is very courageous for a feral cat and since then he's worked his way into being a house cat with full house cat privileges (and duties)!****

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Alena Caranovaabout a year ago

    Nora says, I wish I had a cat like that. Oh I wish I had all the cars in the world. 😂

  • Lol, Toby is my spirit animal because I love sleep!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Haha, he even looks kind of sleepy in this picture! I enjoyed the limerick and the backstory on Toby.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Lovely poem and backstory. He’s beautiful.😻 My story for the tall tail challenge was inspired by a feral cat who would come to my mom’s sliding glass door when I was a teenager. It was initially because our cat Chloe was in heat, and he impregnated her when she snuck out. But even after we got her fixed, he would stop by for food and compliments. It took a long time to build his trust enough to briefly pet him, and it was such a wonderful feeling. He never came indoors. My mom called him “Big Black Tom-Kitty”—real creative. 🙄 LOL

  • Haha Nice one😉👍

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Haha my MIL has adopted many formerly feral cats from her neighborhood

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.