Poets logo

Sleeping Apart

The empty space in the bed

By Natalie FelixPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1

Sleeping without you is a singularly lonely experience,

I have never felt an alone quite like this before,

It is more hollow and cold than solitude;

Which is often chosen and enjoyed.

It is often sad and quiet;

Not like a day drive in your car with the radio up.

It is empty;

But more than just the space on the other side of the bed.

I no longer know where the comfortable spot is.

Wait I do know where it is.

It is with you,

So far away from me.

It is sometimes with another,

And I long for it to be with me.

It is with the hurt,

That I put there in my place.

So we both sleep alone.

Hurt.

Sad.

Apart.

And none of it makes any sense anymore.

Because in each other's arms,

It always felt right.

performance poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Natalie Felix

I am an old soul with many stories in my head...from many lifetimes. Some are true. Some less so.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I felt this deeply 💔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.