Poets logo

The Nothing

When the silence isn't quiet

By Natalie FelixPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
8

To fear the nothing.

When the silence isn't quiet.

When darkness is more than pitch black.

When whispers are lost on the wind.

The floor creaks,

The doors groan,

Windows rattle,

And shutters slam.

But there's just nothing.

Only thoughts and dreams.

Empty spaces next to me.

On the couch,

At the table,

In the bed.

I peer around every corner I take.

I look behind me every other step.

But there is nothing.

Nothing but fear.

I cannot hear anything but the sound of it,

More often than not.

Everyone else around oblivious,

To the cacophony of nightmares,

In my head.

And the fear of the nothing,

Without you.

heartbreaksad poetryperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

Natalie Felix

I am an old soul with many stories in my head...from many lifetimes. Some are true. Some less so.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautifully done.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I love this dark poem that breathes fear and leads to someone.

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    I love the subtitle. The poem is chilling and extremely evocative!

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Yep.. our minds can be our enemy when it comes to these sounds it creates. There are specially made rooms that completely isolates sound, and apparently if you stay there alone for sometime (minutes I think) you can go insane! I didn't read about it yet so I don't know if it's because your mind is creating crazy scenarios, but just got reminded of this when I read your poem.

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    We'll dam. That's it sorry speechless now

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I def feel this as well! Great poem!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Bravo !!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.