Poets logo

Sleep Irony

Limerick

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Sleep Irony
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

As a small child, I always fought sleep.

Never going to bed without making a peep.

I was the opposite of quiet-

I started bedtime riots.

Now what I wouldn't give to lay in bed counting sheep.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I love your writing style, and this is my favorite limerick so far. It’s so universally felt.

Kristen BalyeatWritten by Kristen Balyeat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.