Poets logo

Slay Queen

Boys can't handle more than they can chew.

By Jen PhillipsPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Slay Queen
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Is it me? Am I the problem?

I’m told I'm the perfect girl. The girl everyone wants,

But no one stays- they’ll always have excuses not to stay.

They’ll first blame me; I’ll say what can I do to work on those things? Why didn’t you mention these things as they were happening, I could have worked on these- we could have worked together.

Speaking of which- there are things far worse you've done but we’ll just focus on me and leave it at you are the perfect one but okay.

I’ll cry, beg, plead- it won't work but makes me look like a weak little girl,

Forgetting I am the Queen of this land.

I’ll take what they say and what's wrong with me and I’ll work on those things and be better for the next guy.

They'll come back after they've finished with the new supply- they say they made a mistake and they need me.

I'll listen and give them another chance but they say I've changed but it's what you wanted

You wanted me to change- so I did?

What did you think would happen? You told me what was wrong and I spent the time working on improving myself while you lay on your back.

Now you are mad because I've changed- you the change you wanted.

At this moment I started to realize I may not have been the problem… you are.

Because someone who isn't a problem wouldn't want or make someone change

Why should I have to change who I am as a person to fit in the shit life you call yours?

If I was the girl who got away why am I having to change and why did you leave in the first place?

You don't want me to be with anyone else but you also don't want me

What am I supposed to do?

If you're just here to fuck with me, then you can just fuck right off.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was sooo spot on! I couldn't have said it better myself!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.