Poets logo

Skin

The Luxury of Comfort

By Randi O'Malley SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Skin
Photo by Conner Darnell on Unsplash

Rain

A gentle pattering on my window

The sky grows dark

As clouds gather

Tall, ominous.

I make a cup of tea

There is plenty of time.

The pattering grows louder

As I carry my cup to the porch swing

Pull a blanket round my shoulders

Knitted by my grandmother

I settle in, tucking my legs under me.

I inhale the tea-scented steam

And something more

The smell of the rain

The gentle scorch of electricity in the air

Branches shake as the wind catches my hair

Catches my breath.

Soft rumbles in the distance grow closer

Grow louder

As the bright flashes resolve

Now blue-white streaks in the purple sky

A sharp crack so close I feel it

I stretch and sigh

I am the storm

I am

Comfortable in my own skin.

inspirationalnature poetry
10

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Excellent imagery! I felt like I was experiencing the time leading up to a storm.

  • Luke Foster2 years ago

    Strong poem, and very relatable

  • This was such a wonderful poem and I absolutely loved it!

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    I can relate. And the storm is so cleansing.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    "I am the storm" - I love this line, it evokes such powerful imagery, thank you for writing this!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful. Well done

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love this poem, so relatable!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved the imagery and the tone. Beautiful and very comforting, well done :)

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Beautiful words, and oh so true! Rain is life! Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.