Poets logo

Simple times

I remember the simple times of running summer wild and free

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I remember the simple times of running summer wild and free

Flying on my bike down the big hill until I skinned my left knee

In the woods, we took turns climbing up that crooked old tree

Swimming in the pool until lightning bugs were all that you see

When I’m struggling to pay my bills, it’s those times I miss

Those simple times, remembering that feeling of pure bliss

How naïve I was to think my life would stay just like this

Now those simple times are with me only when I reminisce

Walking the mall with my best friends at my side

Shopping or food court first was all I had to decide

We laughed until we cried when we couldn’t find our ride

Leaving the parking garage, singing loud and wild-eyed

When I wish I could hit pause, the simple times are what I seek

If I could fold myself inside those memories, I’d visit for the entire week

I need to believe the best is coming or did my best times already peak?

Those simple times exist only in my memory as a cherished antique

© Britt Blomster 2022

This poem is the fourth in my series, where I title each poem after a track listing from Kacey Musgraves’s star-crossed album. I’m looking forward to sharing my creative challenge with my readers. Thank you for the support!

First published on my blog and Medium

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Great poem! The simple times are often the most memorable.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved this. I was right there with you thinking of all my own simpler times. What a lovely walk down memory lane. Well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.