Poets logo

Silence would be Golden

Comfort Poem

By Colt HendersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10

Comfort is difficult to qualify

Because each person is different.

We all wish to fly high

But always show we are ignorant.

Comfort is defined thusly

To soothe console and reassure

There is more but that is roughly

More definitions are obscure

I am dark in my soothing

No need for the light

But the light won't take me refusing

And demands it be bright

To console me requires silence then

But life demands a beat

And again I am forced to bend

Laid out in the street

Reassurement calls for love

And that one I could have

Unfortunately I am just a dove

Lonely flying on another's behalf

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Colt Henderson

I usually write horror.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I especially loved these lines: 'To console me requires silence then But life demands a beat' A very beautifully written poem. I loved it!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    I really like this poem, great job!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    For someone who says they usually write horror, you seem to have harnessed your inner poet!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Great poem!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Brilliantly made 😊🎉

  • John Eva2 years ago

    The thoughts that are evoked when reading this are both bold and unassuming at seemingly the same time... I love this one!

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    This belongs in a list of #LinesIWishIdWritten : "I am dark in my soothing"

  • Hassan2 years ago

    Well written!

  • Helen L Hill 2 years ago

    Great work that speaks directly to that dark sad part of my soul hidden away from the world.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful. Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.