Poets logo

Sight Now Seen

Who Knew?

By Emma BakerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2022

Who knew?

Who knew that in a moment

A moment of lazily scanning

A somber gaze of familiar surroundings

That my selfish, cynical world

Could stop

Not a standstill but

A mere beginning

Through a clouded litany

Scenarios all previously played out

Broken records

methodical movements

The fog of my fickle feelings

The uncanny setting of the familiar

disparity of my personal perception

Shattering the glass

My un-expectant glower challenged

The connection of eyes meeting

Typically mundane

Sometimes avoidant

But our nonverbal introduction

This was the opening statement

The introduction of my rose-colored love

Life’s pains and heartache

Whether discontentment or distress

They can’t break the stronghold

Of this compassion that promises to be

In the meeting of eyes

All pleasantries are skipped

in our moment

Behind your windows

A lighthouse of imaginative adoration

your soul’s glisten rivals the sun

and dusky eyes bring out the stars

Evermore my melancholy ceases

A promise of faithful connection

Guaranteed in a simper so sweet

My reality has changed

meeting your glance

I know now my destiny

Within a gesture shared

Intimacy of two souls

Sure to become a union of abundance

In the woodsy iris’s

A stranger curiously familiar

Within this forest I find my unbeaten path

A trail saved for a melodramatic sentient

I see memories still to come

Formed by years of undying love

Who knew

Who knew this moment

A paradigm of lonesome

Fluttered away with those dreamy lashes

Wished upon and sullen

My mahogany eyed mystery match

Sight now seen

Life’s truest desire to love

Has yet finally found me

love poems

About the Creator

Emma Baker

I like words that over-promise life's beauty

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emma BakerWritten by Emma Baker

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.