Poets logo

Sight Beyond Sight

Looking Beyond What Is Visible

By Katrina ByrdPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Alone in thought

I cradle my sanity

For want of acknowledging the insane

The existence of that which does not exist

The presence of that which does not present itself

That which only speaks to me

Clearing the room of reality

Leaving only myself and itself

Washing my dull, lackluster corporeality

In a deep ocean of things

With a willingness to show it only to me

Often inviting me to witness

At times accompanied by pain

The bright lights on the other side of an aura

The beautiful colors that wait

Beyond what most concede to be true

Presenting questions

No one could possibly have the answers to

Off in the distant corners

The far reaches of being

There exists a place to which I retreat

A place that apparently only I can see

That I could never consciously acknowledge

So alone I sit in thought

Cradling my sanity

For want and need of acknowledging something

That most others refuse to believe

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Katrina Byrd

It comes to me when it wants to speak

And it speaks through me

When it speaks it uses its own voice

Thus far, I haven't regretted my choice

I admire its courage, elocution, and effective speech

So much so that at times

I wish that it was me

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katrina ByrdWritten by Katrina Byrd

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.