Poets logo

Sibling Feud

RubyRed Original

By Ruby RedPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
2
Sibling Feud
Photo by Juliane Liebermann on Unsplash

Inspired by The Offering, by Hannah Moore.

-

There is a major question in our world that is often left unanswered.

I cannot, for that matter, worry about it,

As siblings are unknown to me.

I know many with older or younger.

They ask me "do you have a sibling?"

I take a breath. Brace myself for the truth to escape my lips.

I must brave the eyes in which I stare and explain:

"No, i'm an only child"

Oh, the praise i receive.

I am merely mortal, but how is it that i am interrogated so forcefully?

No, i do not have to share.

No, i have my own room.

And yes, yes, YES. I get all of the attention all of the time forever and ever and evermore.

And you still believe that that is a good thing!

You have one to give advice to.

You have one to receive advice from.

Yes, i have parents. But... it's not the same.

You must trust me.

Believe me when there is no privacy.

Personal space is a long-lost treasure.

And attention.

It's UNWANTED.

Not needed.

And the arguments.

Have you ever fought so hard against the ones you love so deeply?

Because when there is no other one(s) to turn on.

No other one(s) to blame.

You will inevitably turn on the ones who gave you your name.

Which...

Isn't nice.

And nothing about it is.

No argument is "nice" or "fun" nor should it be.

But you have another option...

I guess.

Sort of.

But you have someone.

That's my point.

You have another who shares your life.

A best friend through blood.

You'll have them through thick and thin. Through blood and guts always.

At least, that's what I believe.

You'll always have that connection, that blood-tie, even if you don't want it.

And you'll find something else about me.

Something you.. don't really have to do.

I cling to those friendships so tightly.

But you will never have to.

Because if all goes well,

And love perseveres,

You'll be there for each other.

But friendships, you must realise,

Can break.

And I have further to fall, most often.

As my parents...

Don't

really

seem

to be

helpful.

Especially because i'm.. you know..

Me.

I don't treasure that connection.

That blood-to-blood tie.

Because I'm an only child.

It isn't always about the spotlight.

So stop praising me for goodness sake!

Stop saying "you're so lucky"

Because it really doesn't feel like that,

When all those friendships break.

Loneliness comes easy...

At least, that's how it feels.

And i know i'm being negative,

But you need to think about my world.

-

Fin.

And thank you for reading,

And understanding :)

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Ruby Red

Hello friends!

I am a quirky teenager, lover of books, music and theatre. I am happy.

An ally 🏳️‍🌈

Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear - Edgar Allen Poe

Consider this a doorway to my mind and soul.

I hope you enjoy ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Interesting read

  • Omg, I'm an only child too! Whatever you have said here is extremely true!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.