Poets logo

Siamese Phone

Attached to me, draining my energy

By Simon GeorgePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Siamese Phone
Photo by Andrew Guan on Unsplash

Everywhere I go, you come with me. Attached to my face like a character from Harry Potter, stealing my life force. Bloodsucker, mind fucker, traipsing through my mentalverse with unclear intentions. I solicit and enable your behaviour, and you devour the value of my time without hesitation.

I carry you in my pocket like I'm entering the wilderness with a tool to rely on for my survival. But what warmth and shelter do you give me? The judgement of others will not sustain me. Instead, you gnaw at my armour with relentless vigour leaving me exposed to the elements to shiver.

Without surgical intervention, I wonder if I could muster the tools to survive in the wild that we claim to have tamed, but is it, not us who have lost our way? You pixilated the forest in which I wander. Forever seeking the evergreen from which I came.

You are the tail that has no purpose. Once lost to evolution voluntarily reattached, but I no longer hang from trees but swing from digital dreams. I long to be cast beneath the swaying shadows of a living canopy that nurtures and protects me. But I'm currently lost in the night, following blindly in the illumination of your screen, showing me stars that don't exist.

_______________________

What's your relationship with your phone like? Can you relate to the words above?

_______________________

© Simon George 2023. All Rights Reserved.

nature poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Omgggg, this was so freaking relatable!

  • My phone is not like my vestigial tail but rather that which threatens to render my brain vestigial.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.