Poets logo

Closing Doors Behind Me

An ode to the door

By Simon GeorgePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Closing Doors Behind Me
Photo by Vilmos Heim on Unsplash

To most, you are just a door.

You open and close.

Keep out the riff-raff.

But I don't like you.

I've decided.

Because you always let people leave...

...

I blame you!

Because it can't be my fault.

I wouldn't like that.

And you are just a door.

You don't get a say.

I can shut you up whenever I want.

Slam you when I really mean it.

So stop giving me that blank stare.

I honestly do not care.

But if I think about it.

I'd probably miss you if you weren't there.

...

You let people leave.

That I can't forgive.

But I'm hoping that one day you open up for love because that's what I truly need.

So please keep your peephole open.

And ring your bell when you find them.

Then I can forgive you.

And appreciate what you do.

Keeping me safe and all.

_____________________________

Written exclusively for the Ode to Ordinary challenge. I don't usually have deep feelings for doors. Honest.

_____________________________

© Simon George 2023. All Rights Reserved.

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    You let people leave. That I can't forgive. These lines resonated to deeply with me! Loved your poem!

  • Though would we want to be with someone who was only there because they couldn't leave? I get your drift, but still....

  • Great Piece ❤️💯😉📝😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.