Poets logo

Short, Pressed

He's so young in nature

By Shelby LynnPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Short, Pressed
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

It's in the way he speaks to me

So calm. Like it's rehearsed.

Romanticize each syllable

"what we have, for me's a first"

He's so young in nature

But he's much older than me

He tells me that he likes my hands

with his rested on my knees

I probably knew better

I know I didn't see a ring

Would that have even mattered?

Would it have changed a single thing?

I wanted him so badly

More than anyone before

I know I said that last time

But this time I was sure

Stupid girl, don't waste your energy

On making him feels seen

You can love him hard as ever

And it still won't mean a thing

"There's just no one quite like you, kid

Maybe we could make this work"

Buckle up, sweet angel girl-

This one's gonna hurt

For whiskey softens hardened men

But only in the night.

You'll never see that side of him

For the rest of his fucking life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.