Poets logo

Shoes and Clothes

(Burden)

By Jesse Lee-YoungPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hate shoes.

I trip over my own,

I trip over those of others,

I trip.

I cannot escape. They're everywhere.

No matter what I see more and more shoes.

I do not know where they come from,

And I do not care.

I want them gone.

I hate clothes,

I wash them. I fold them.

I get too tired to put them away.

The next day there are more,

And I have to wash them all

I cannot escape,

I cannot call for help,

I can only cry and seethe and yell and scream and throw and refuse to eat until I do the task I have to do

It will never be done. I will never see the floor. I will never escape.

Can we throw some away?

"Why not donate or sell them?"

As long as you take care of it yourself? I don't want to do it.

"But why?"

I struggle to answer. I'm already burnt out.

I have tried this before.

No one wants to buy my clothes,

I cannot walk straight,

Much less carry clothes,

Without a car,

To a donation center.

I want to rest.

"I don't see why we can't do this together"

I know why,

And I do not want to go through with:

The Sorting

The Fighting

The Organizing

The Waiting

The Hauling

The Pain

The Agony

I want it done. I want them gone. I want it clean. I'm exhausted.

The landlord is coming,

And the place is a mess,

Why can't you see that we have no

Time

Energy

Patience

Luxury

To just say over and over,

That these Shoes and Clothes,

Will be away?

I am Tormented by this.

The cats hide everywhere.

I cannot relax.

I cannot rest.

I will always be trapped.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Lee-Young

I'm a Blasian Autistic Enby who has a passion for writing. I value hard work and people's personal experiences above all. I enjoy lots of nerdy media, and I love to draw in my spare time. I do fan art, make silly comics, and I'm a Barista.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.