Poets logo

Ship Trip 🛳

I think I had this same title for a school project when I went on a cruise in grade one. Unfortunately, I don’t think my writing style has changed all that much!

By Grz ColmPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
25
Ship at Lifou

I recently went on cruise with my parents (to sort of celebrate their 5oth wedding anniversary which was a couple of months earlier) also joining us were my two nephews! Wish I was still there!

This is just a few random musings I scribbled down just before the trip ended. I don’t think it is long enough to fit into Wander but we’ll see.

Ship Trip 🛳

The ship’s engine shudders and then roars into life,

Away we go - under Sydney Harbour,

It takes me a couple of days to shake off the cares

And useless baggage of life and finally start to relax.

Maybe I’ll never have to return..

There’s something truly meditative about being at sea,

For over three days with no land in sight (before we’d reach an island).

Time seems to slow right down,

Just like when you were a kid -

There’s a freedom in its vast expansiveness -

Being in the middle of nowhere!

It’s as if it had really been a week,

Instead of just three days.

If you wish for time to slow down a little (don’t we all)

Then, perhaps a cruise is in order!

I’m also happy to report there have been no Poseidon disasters!

*

Will I ever have to return home from being at sea,

From seeing all these beautiful islands

(and laughing so much that I felt like a different person)

and swimming, snorkelling & sightseeing?

I must, I sigh, as time is running out..

I’ll miss reading my Stephen King novel while I watch &

Listen to the sounds of the ship plunging through the pacific waters,

I will later reminisce & dream about the turquoise colour of the water

At Mystery Island 🏝

Who will make my bed in the morning NOW?

Thanks Daryl!

I’ll miss your crazy towel abominations!

Food. So much food. Ahh!

I’ll fondly remember our little adventures at Pt Villa & the islands,

And the exquisite French bakery in Noumea (the best I’ve ever been too!)

Mostly though, I’ll just miss laughing with my rambunctious nephews,

About the silliest things at dinner every night,

Whilst sipping margaritas with a three course meal.

It says the ship is “like no place on Earth”

(and I realise that is a bit of a pun & simile)

But it surely is.

It’s funny - I hadn’t been on a cruise for about 33 years,

But when I boarded the ship, the smells came right back to me,

Similarly, getting off the tender at Mystery Island,

The trees, the reeds, an indefinable pleasant aroma

(perhaps from the many coconuts trees) 🥥 🌴

I was in awe - I knew these smells as a child,

I had these olfactory memories from over 3 decades ago,

of journeying there as a small kid,

Now, not just reinforcing prior experiences,

but creating new memories to keep me afloat,

It was a beautiful feeling.

At the end of the day I’m just grateful,

For the time to see, to do, and be.

Sea life seems to do me well me hearties! 🏴‍☠️😉

***

Mystery Island & geeky terminator-esque glasses

View from the stern

The steward’s towel-monkey abomination! 😉

Noumea - checked out the best French bakery here- highly recommended!

This didn’t end up fitting in “Wander”. 😅😆

*If you wish, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and film reviews etc. Many thanks.

performance poetry
25

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 months ago

    I wanted to rad this because of your opening line. Then you took me on a different adventure and reminded me Why I enjoy cruising as well ( something I never thought I would).

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I've never fancied a cruise, but you're selling it well, perhaps I've shifted a little.

  • Wow, nice article and I see you enjoyed yourself 👍😉📝💯♥️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Looks like you had fun despite the frown lol Glad you got some relaxing time!! Hope it was everything you needed!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    ooh... I want to be there right NOW! I need some writing/life inspiration! Nice job!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Shhh I love the glasses

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    I absolutely love your poetic journaling of this trip, Grz! Beautiful descriptions, AND you made me giggle! Now I want to go on a cruise! Great photos as well! Good to see your face! 😁 Thanks for sharing your experience! 💫💞

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    This looks like a wonderful trip in so many ways. Rambunctious is a word underused in my opinion. I think people who craft things out of towels are awesome. Same with napkins. How do they do it? Is there some sort of course? Loved it, Grz. Thanks for sharing pieces of it with us.

  • Thanks for taking us through this , that was great fun

  • Laughing is like the best thing ever! Especially when it's about the silliest things and with our loved ones! Sorry for being nosy, lol, but what did you have in that French bakery? That towel monkey is hilarious and so creative, lol! You look freaking cool with those glasses!

  • Well, I thought it was just a "wander"ful way of sharing your trip with us. (And that towel monkey is pretty cool.)

  • Andrei Z.7 months ago

    Cool! Looks like you had a great time! Very glad for you! Also, enjoyed your poetic monologue, some beautiful thoughts there. I'm missing this in my life—visiting islands and sailing seas.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Who is that handsome movie star up above in sunglasses? This is like a person whom I have yet to meet. What a difference a cruise makes, 72 long/sort hours. You should go be a pirate my friend, the sea brings out your sunshiny YOU. I am so happy you took a respite from the grind and found such joy in living. More is def needed. 50 years of togetherness, so small feat. Don't knock the towel monkey, he so cute. Your pics are great. 🥰

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is great. Made me feel like I was there with you. Well done. Also, I'm glad you enjoyed the cruise.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I enjoyed your story . You deserve this trip. 50 years , wow your parents hit the Jackpot of true love. ❤️So now, are you an only child ? Thanks for sharing your story of paradise . I think your story was more in the line of poetry . If you included detail on what you ate and the cruise line name and the live entertainment it can be resubmitted in the Wonder community.

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    That was well described. It almost makes me want to go on a cruise. Personally for me it would hell. Too confined, too many people. Well done.

  • Brilliant!!!! Thank you for taking me here!! Just as you were having 30 year old memories stirred, your poem brought me back to the ocean! What was the ship? It looks like celebrity but it’s hard to be sure… I had one of the best times of my life on a Celebrity Cruise! I felt like a Princess… and I just say that lifestyle felt very natural 😉😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.