Poets logo

“The Fingernail Muncher!” - Coming soon to a Theater near you! 😳

I’m so sorry in advance. For Novel’s “what I’m thankful for when I wake up in the morning” mini challenge..I don’t think this is what she wanted.. 😅

By Grz ColmPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
25
Do you know how hard it was to get the fingers in the mouth via AI?! 😅🤣

I am grateful for my fingernails,

They give me something to do,

Whether I am happy,

and sometimes when I’m blue,

You see sometimes I get a bit excited,

And they are just there waiting to be devoured,

They cure my anxiety temporarily,

Look, I don’t do it ALL the time (yes I do!)

But if I didn’t have them,

My fingers would probably

Be raw red,

So it’s part of the master’s plan,

To have that little bit of wriggle room in-between

And for that I’m highly grateful

As I spit out a mouthful -

(I don’t do that I swear! Shut-up okay - you probably do!)

But, have you ever tried to bite your toenails?

Me either,

I’m just asking for a friend!

And on that note, I have ten friends,

One on each finger,

That grow back even thicker!

This piece of writing is disgusting,

but it has to be said,

There’s a time for manners,

But not ‘till I’m dead.

***

This was Novel’s mini challenge. You can also read her amazing entry below about sight! It’s a soul enriching piece.

“My_?__makes my life meaningful. 💖 💗 💓

What one thing makes your life most meaningful? What gives you the most joy when you wake up each morning? Answer with a short poem if you are so inclined to sing a thankful song.”

performance poetryhumor
25

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Grz I love this!! It’s relatable and most importantly hilarious!!! Great work!!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Lol. That was hilarious. But, yuck. 🤣

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    LOL!!! Gross & humorous at the same time!!! Loving it!!!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    🤣🤣 no comment on the toenails. I do admit to chewing both my fingernails and my actual fingers though 🫠🫠 it does help with the anxiety!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    This had be cringing and laughing! Nicely Done!

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    I can now see sports players eat a lot of sunflower seeds. Our anxiety, sure can get the best of us, we developed comforting habits in the process.

  • This was great, I tell my 14 year old to stop chewing her nails all the time. Incredibly funny prose especially the inner monologue parts. Well done!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Hahaha! This is hilarious!!! Somehow you managed to write a beautiful piece about fingernail (toenail😵) biting. 😂 Favorite line: “Look, I don’t do it ALL the time (yes I do!)” 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    My daughter, who is 30, has recently stopped biting her fingernails. She is so proud of them now. Lovely descriptive poem! 💙👍😊

  • I used to have this habit when I was a kid. But I managed to kick it because I love long nails 🤣🤣🤣

  • My older brother chewed his nails so mom decided to give him a nickel every time she had to trim them. With the kind of logic that could only belong to a child, I objected declaring it wasn't fair he should get a nickel when the rest of us didn't. She answered, "But you don't chew your finger nails." I responded, "But I could," & promptly began to gnaw on them. I continued biting my finger nails all the way through four years of college & beyond. Never did get a nickel for having to have them trimmed.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    🤣 OMFG… I don’t have words. Just laughter. This was too clever.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Supercute!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Oh no this was equal parts funny and disgusting 😂 I would genuinely rather see you pick your nose than bite your nails haha

  • Racharoonie9 months ago

    Hahaha so funny. This is such a funny piece — more, more!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    good work. I used to bite my nails.

  • Test9 months ago

    Well done... not the nailbiting...but the writing about it was superb and very amusing. I have to admit I just want to lock gloves on your hands, though💙Anneliese

  • E.K. Daniels9 months ago

    I literally LOLd. This was superb.

  • Couldn't help but laugh omg you captured it!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Ugh. Disgusting. Well done.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    OMG OMG OMG OMG etc. This is great. Now it is on, Grz. I hope everyone tries to top this one. Thank you for this, so you can write poetry quite well it seems. Amazing.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    I love that you made me laugh out loud this morning. Thank you.

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    I love this, lol! I'm also a chronic nailbiter. Very witty and unique poem

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    bahahahahaha. This is genius. I didn't even know about Novel's challenge. The muncher...hahaha. This is actually very clever and I love the arguing with yourself in brackets, the strangely engrossing AI image and the lightly disgusting taste it left in my mouth!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.