Poets logo

Shelter Dog Part Two

The Happy Ending

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Shelter Dog Part Two
Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

We got over the grief

Of the great betrayal

Turned over a new leaf

To better end our tale.

...

We searched hard, far and wide

To find a new puppy

Then it all went quiet

And left us in the deep.

...

One day, a door opens

Deathly silence ensues

A bright new devotion

In my mom's arms, asnooze.

...

My friends, I am so, so happy!!

My family got a new puppy!!

...

Those who read my poem, Shelter Dog (read it here: https://vocal.media/poets/shelter-dog) know that I went through a rough experience with adopting a dog a couple of months ago.

Well, just recently, my family found a boxer puppy and bought him!

We know that this won't be a bad experience because we have had two boxers before and we didn't adopt him from the shelter. Dogs from the shelter have a lot of emotional baggage and they need a lot of extra emotional care. Puppies are physically a lot of work, but if you can't handle a puppy, I guarantee you cannot handle a shelter dog.

You need to make sure you know what you are buying if you adopt from a shelter.

Please be careful guys, and remember that the shelter people are going to try as hard as they can to sell you on that dog. Just like salesmen, they're going to ignore the bad facts and embellish the good.

Anyway, boxers are amazing. They are so sweet and chill. I mean, for the first four or so years they're like a bunch of teenage boys who just drank a gallon of Dr. Pepper each, but then they mellow out and become sweet and cuddly.

I am so excited for the next twelve years we're going to have this dog. I am so happy that we are going to have a dog we can actually trust.

...

Thanks for reading!! If you enjoyed, please like, share, and subscribe for more content. Please check out some of my other stories and let me know in the comments, what is your favorite dog breed?

love poems
2

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read10 months ago

    Rescue is the way to go, that's how we got our cats. Congrats on the new pupper!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Mz. Cezanne ~ I'll Box you for your Boxer ~ - I'm so into 'Rescues' - Fondly, Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.