Poets logo

Sheila

A Day At the Fair With an Alien

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read

Yawning, I gazed from window pane

As dawn sun began it’s daily reign.

Cat stumbled out yon barn

Whence perhaps chased a ball of yarn.

Mayhap she had been bravely mousing,

Perhaps tabby was chicken rousting.

Then, behind her came a strange lass …

Wiped I did mist from damply dewed glass.

Tall, willowy, her skin strangely hued

Psychedelic hallucinogenic head imbued

🎵🎶“Pour me another tequila Sheila,”🎵🎶 Bobby Bare crooned.

As radio echoed me…, I almost swooned.

*****************

From behind the creature I quietly snuck,

Chaotically whirling thoughts awestruck.

In my brain I heard these words,

“Do not fear. I only listen to the birds.”

“Okay…, you like birdsong?”

Turning, she gazed at me long;

Soul deep eyes neath colorful patches,

Like she won (lost?) paint throwing matches.

She was weirdly attractive, colored nice I guess.

“My ship is behind yon edifice.”

My mind stepped back from slippery precipice.

********************

A four digited hand stretched forth to me;

Color swirling in palm like a rainbow sea.

I asked simply, “What’s your name?”

Yeah, I know, I’m suavely lame.

“Call me Sheila,” was silent reply.

Sheila… figures. I didn’t bother to wonder why.

********************

From my sister’s closet I adorned her

Since her skin was covered in soft downy fur

Cowgirl hat, scarf, sunglasses, padded boots;

We headed out, Sheila leaning on me like in cahoots.

We went to Iowa corn festival in harvested field

To explore what more today would yield.

Yes, I took an alien Sheila to the county fair

Feeling like Forest Gump on a chocolate box dare

*****************

Aliens have a good sense of humor

Despite old movies and horrific rumor.

Sheila tinkled a silent giggle when a cow farted;

Wonder adorned her face as horse race started.

Mane flowing, princely stallion bowed;

Locking gaze with Sheila through bustling crowd.

At animal pen a raging bull snorted and pawed dirt,

Then dipped his head for caress, no wish to hurt.

********************

On hay ride a child wistfully queried

Why Sheila looked thin and wearied.

Sheila stroked little girl’s errant lock;

Feather light touch like a dust bunny flock.

Hay stuck in places not publicly scratched;

Poking her bum like chickens newly hatched.

Silence did not communication lack,

As little girl giggled on gunny sack…

*****************

Sample we did corn, peas, squash, green beans;

Vegetarian leanings it would seem.

Butter ran down her rounded chin -

Sheila swiped and licked, sporting wicked grin.

“Ish vewy good,” she telepathically claimed

“Mental mouthful?”, I belly laughed and exclaimed

*****************

Sheila loved dirty rooting pigs;

Marveled at sweet sun kissed foreign figs;

Cocked head at a restless toddler’s fidget;

Flicked molasses from a bean dipped digit.

Gazed at smiling people passing by;

Eternity in reflective gaze upon cloudless sky.

Then we passed the his and hers,

Alien face wrinkled like a mangy curs.

Wasn’t quite so happy by port-a-pot

I almost snorted a wad of snot

*****************

Cotton candy in hand, clambered on ferris wheel,

She took to the ride with zest and zeal.

Stopped at top, wonder filled world below

As I lazily swung us to and fro.

Swaying in breeze, skin heat kissed;

Below, crowds of farmers rubber duckies missed.

Cowgirl hat lifted in errant wind gust

Shifting a rainbow patina, beauteous just.

Jumbled images of harvest, apple pie, grandkids

Filtered through; pictures behind transparent eye lids.

Sheila looked toward the horizon

As we swung there above a world with alien eyes on

*****************

When once returned to the farm

My frail humanity with not a harm;

I showed her the house, picture of dad and mom.

These she gazed at with thoughtful aplomb.

“I must go to make my report”

I touched her fingers before I could abort.

She smiled and wafted a telepathic kiss

Then departed silently, leaving thoughtful bliss

*****************

I think about her now and then

Hoping her report had a positive spin

I play Bobby Bare now when I’m blue

Always looking for a rainbow hue

####################################################

I am more story teller than poet, but I hope you got a chuckle. Regardless, take your alien somewhere friendly. Hope you enjoyed it.

performance poetrynature poetryhumorchildrens poetry

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Andrew this was fantastic!!! Beautifully written!!! Love this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Berry Driven9 months ago

    Now I want to go to a fair again dang gum.LOL She came at a good time to see humanity. As I've come to expect now wonderful imagery.

  • Awww, it's so sad that she had to leave. I loved your poem! Ish vewy good!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.