Poets logo

She

A poem

By Will TudgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
She
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I never knew peace till I laid with her,

Smoothed her hair and tucked it behind her ear,

Unveiling her cheek to receive my kiss

As we lay in afternoon stillness.

The vile things are gone, or don’t matter,

I don’t know.

They don’t bother me in these moments,

Moments where I am present, and alive.

No sailor adrift spying land,

No parched desert wanderer stumbling upon the oasis,

No lost lamb reunited with her mother

Knows relief like this.

A balm like no other

A salve for an unseen wound

The carer and the cure in one

And the words won’t come.

I want to tell her this moment is perfect,

That I will use my strength to protect her,

To defend her from any and all,

That I would die for her, or live for her.

The words tumble from my brain,

But my thick tongue trips and my voice cracks

So I turn, and look into her eyes,

And she knows.

She knows she is my mate, my friend, my world.

She knows what she gives me, and knows that I know.

She knows everything that matters,

And shows it with a smile.

With her by my side, I shall fear no ill,

Though I walk that valley.

She armours me against the slings and arrows

So that I barely feel them.

She is the roaring fire after a long walk in the rain.

She is the bliss of cessation of pain.

She is my defender against the slurs.

She is my comfort, and I am hers.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.