Poets logo

The Hydra

By Will TudgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Hydra
Photo by Tyler Lastovich on Unsplash

Fine. I admit it. I am no match for this hydra,

No Hercules, I.

Not the wit to defeat the many headed beast

So I keep chopping. Why?

Because virtue is it’s own reward? No.

Because god loves a trier? Ha!

Because if I believe in myself, anything is possible?

I’m not a child.

Yet I keep the razor edged plates spinning,

Laugh mirthlessly as more plates are added.

I stand in the foothills and watch the pebbles

Tumble down the mountainside.

But all the while my mind is free, soaring high up on a thermal

Watching a tiny figure below in the foothills

About to be buried by the avalanche

I’m glad I’m not him. It’s nice up here.

And here is another figure surrounded by a field of spinning crockery.

How funny! Why does he not simply let them drop?

Does he not see that the more he does,

The more he is given to do?

Onwards to a foetid lake, befouled with blood and floating reptilian heads.

A figure wearily flailing, sweaty, bloodied.

The end is near for him when the tether snaps taut,

I am yanked back

And the hydra strikes.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Will Tudge is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.