Poets logo

She’s Blonde, You Were Brunette

She's Not You

By Poppy Published 9 months ago 2 min read
13
Image Created with Midjourney

1.

There was a time

In my life when

Sunlight fell in

Patterns around me

Like confetti at a concert

It was the time of my life

When I was best friends with

A brown haired girl who

Handed me hope for

Every time I passed her

Reassurances

(A time when I was

Best friends with you)

People said we looked

Like sisters and you soon

Grew into one (or so I thought)

Sharing each other’s presence

Like a bag of popcorn

One conversation lasted

Two whole years because

We never came up for air

We were constant

And unwavering

And unbreakable

(Like the Titanic)

Now I balance

On the horizon

Looking for you

As a blind man

Searches for sight

But you are nowhere

To be found

(At least not for me)

2.

There is a girl

Who I stumble across

In grocery stores and

Movie theatre car parks

When I search for dark hair

And my eyes land on

Dyed blonde instead

Her hair is the

Gradient of grass

Where yours was

The spiral of tower shells

She avoids meeting

My eyes in a kind of way

You never did

Running away for

Every time you stayed

My walls used to be

Tattooed with memories

Of good times shared

(With you)

Now every corner

Is spiderwebbed with ‘why’s

Every window covered with

Curtains of abandonment

When my phone screen

Lights up I always think

It is the past calling

Apologising for the blood

Still staining my carpet

My clothes, my skin

My every thought

But it is never her

Offering an explanation

And that’s how I know

You are completely

And utterly different

From your blonde look-a-like

You would never

Leave me to pick up

The pieces of this friendship

All on my own

You would never let me

Pick up my own pieces

By myself

She’s turned her back

In a way you never would

And every time I search for you

All I find is someone who

Has your face but lacks

Your kindness

They tell me you

Share the same name

The same eyes

The same voice

But what you don’t share

Is the same best friend

You don’t share the

Ability to save me

(Or at least not

The desire to)

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this, please check out more of my poems:

heartbreaksad poetry
13

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    (Like the Titanic) - was like a punch in the gut. Wow. Mother Combs said it perfectly when she said painfully beautiful.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    painfully beautiful

  • Mary E Bradbury9 months ago

    What an absolutely brilliant poem! I could feel the loss.

  • This was so relatable and sadly this happens wayyyyy too many times!

  • Test9 months ago

    This was absolutely beautiful and painful. You captured the feelings of a lost friend, this is the perfect example of show don't tell. Really well done.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I really like the way all the feeling is here, but none of the fact, I think it help the reader identify with the piece.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow. I feel this. Similar experience over here; and you captured it so well. So so well. 👏👏👏💗 “You would never Leave me to pick up The pieces of this friendship All on my own You would never let me Pick up my own pieces By myself” Damn that is so poignant. I absolutely loved this, Poppy!

  • The feeling I get whenever I catch more than a few moments of any "Real Housewives of...," wherever they might be. We were friends once upon a time & I do not know what happened.

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Poppy, this was so moving, and really brave to write. I went through a similar transition in a friendship once, and I know how painful it is. I applaud you for turning that agony into this raw, beautiful poem.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    This is excellent! I love the way you used hair color in this… thanks for sharing ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.