Poets logo

She Just Couldn’t

A love story poem.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 12 months ago 1 min read
She Just Couldn’t
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Was not that I did not try,

My soul did wish for it to work out,

You knew my pain, hand to hand, I did cry.

❤️

None got so near to me,

None were so dear,

It’s why I can’t help but to see thee.

❤️

In my mind, a fond spot,

A spot I go to have time with you,

Stop my love for you, I have not.

❤️

Know me, you were my best,

If you’d last, a long shot,

Just know that I did love you more than the rest.

❤️

A push not hard, did not work well,

My fear made me do it,

My life made me send you to your hell.

❤️

For I won’t know what it is that you see,

None but you,

You were the last to last to look that way at me.

❤️

Not good, not for you,

Not that I can ever be,

I push what I love away, we’d not be true.

❤️

My sins come with me each day,

Pain when I see your fate,

My sins are for what, the cost you did pay.

❤️

Move on, if only you can find a find way,

My fond wish for you,

I wish I knew what else to say.

❤️

The hurt upon you, I will ever be sad,

A love in me I just can not give,

If ever I said hi, will you be mad?

❤️

I did want to give it all to you,

I hope that you know this to be how I feel,

You will for my life be my one love that was true, if only I did not fear to say this to you.

❤️

I did want to give you more,

Now life and the past took that away,

I hear I’m home, and end up sad, it’s not you at the door.

❤️

And I have to hide,

Hide when I cry,

love poems

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    So sad, so much regret. Not the one who got away but rather the one who was driven away--ever mourned, ne'er forgotten.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    This is an unrequited love in its truest sense, I am making a story about where both people got closure . It was inspired by a friends Facebook post prompt. I might tag this poem into if I get your ok. 😊

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Jason, this is so emotional and beautifully written!!! Bravo!!!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Sad, Poignant, Lovely!😥

Jason Ray Morton Written by Jason Ray Morton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.