Poets logo

Sharpened Steel

Deceived by touch.

By J. S. WadePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
12
DALL•E 2 creation

Cold, hard, polished steel reflects teeming life, cutting behind me, smooth as a knife. Two laugh in a memory, sweet and bitter. Witnesses utter empty whispers. Teared eyes drop, all time stops. A blurred face weeps, it’s me.

Weathered hands glide across the tranquil shell, shielding my child from my turbulence, a roaring river cast off a cliff in the wild. I plead for peace and for the pain to cease. Turn back the clock. Abate the shock.

Once a warm touch, a strong embrace, now six feet down, you’re displaced, into the ground. Silence within, without, hammering your shroud, billowing shadows become black clouds. Silvered lightning flies, flashing toward the starlit skies, transcending eternity. My hand outstretched, up and lost, in farewell to your sarcophagus, imprisoned in unconsciousness.

I feel no more, but smooth cold steel and within my soul remembrances feel. They soothe and warm, yet daily bring their dagger twists, life’s jagged stings. Your best friend marries, I’m happy, sad. Their first born comes, I’m envious, glad. What blessings would you have known?What could have been, if you had grown?

Cold, hard, polished steel reflects teeming life, cutting behind me, smooth as a knife.

sad poetryheartbreak
12

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This is so breath taking! I love the poetic feel of it! Just like the steel the speak of, it cuts deep! As always, I am in awe of your masterful story telling and ability to make words have such a string impact! 💚 Also, nice new profile picture! 💙

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff6 months ago

    utterly heartbreaking but astoundingly well written

  • Cindy Calder6 months ago

    What a powerfully moving piece of prose. So profoundly from the heart, it encompasses your grief. Such loss induces pain that does not cease.

  • Omggg. I'm at a loss for words. This ripped my heart out and crushed it. There's just too much of pain. Hope you're feeling okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Heartbreaking!!! Poignantly written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Exactly what I feel. My prayers are with you. Ah, for no one else ever to know how this feels.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    That is one fine piece of writing.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Oh my goodness, Scott. Thank is heartwrenching. Hugs, my friend,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.