Poets logo

Shared Beats

A Daughter Steals The Rhythm

By Isaac Haldeman Published 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
2
Safest Places

It was with sound, my first sight of you.

Through a once healed womb.

My heart thought he heard himself speak, snare-like,

Though the rhythm had moved.

My first sight of a dream.

It was our shared beats, we all heard

Through the once cut womb.

“She stole our rhythm,” heart said. "Don't you think?"

No pulses skipped. Still interlinked.

Oh my, my,

My LowShy.

Dream made true

The day my heart and eyes saw you.

I took a picture of a dream I had.

Drips dropped down to the ground

to pool and to cool.

Blue hands washed red, wholly around

As they pulled

Our dream into the room,

from her twice opened womb.

A vail between, mother's welled eyes, and your wet skin.

Her viscous life, glimmered so bright, it cracked my chin.

But when

My heart thought he heard himself not speak again.

Our shared pulse, now skipping, Nevertheless, still linked.

Our broken rhythm remained mutually synched.

Pulled out from warmth and put into cold,

Daddy was pushed aside, like a habit grown old.

Making me query, what should I do?

My heart stopped so I thought I was you.

No crying yet.

Why?

No,

"She's beautiful." from your harbinger yet.

Why? I stuffed the urge to cry.

Yet no alarm was put to the racket. Why!?

The O.O.G. R.D.K.

Last time I was asked to approach! I was asked to come see!

Instead, they stole you away from we!

Your mother and me.

I searched the crowd of eyes for why they decided to flee.

I saw my,

My, oh my, #myLowShy. Dream Girl. Daughter.

I saw you vanish.

What did they think this father could be banished?!

My heart screamed swift, muted words.

“Chase after her!!!”

I gently hold a ray of the sun.

Quick, stooped down kisses were left, along with "I’ll find her.",

Two “I love you’s.”,

Then trying to lift my mood,

“We have a baby girl!”

I got back en route.

Tears no longer saved poured out.

Hot streams fanned cold by hasted steps.

The son in me, gave the father I am, deep respect.

“No matter what they say,

She is mine!” I prayed.

A snapshot of a dream.

We find you, my heart, and I,

Separated by panes we watch you as we neared asunder.

Last time the tops of my arms were heated under

the same lamp that warmed him, your kin.

I changed his first diaper. I cleaned his skin.

But not my baby girl's. Why?!

“Why is there a crowd of five.

Minus her father and I?”

Heart demanded.

My SHY-AUX battery.

Separated by tall visible pains,

My chest and ear pressed against the invisible barricades,

to try and hear.

Oxygen, made impossible, due to our fear.

“Babygirl stole our rhythm,” I told my red heart, turning blue.

We faintly hear a covered face spout, "downs syndr…"

But it’s not clear. Then my mind began to drone.

We pushed away from the window with some rue.

With eyes locked on my surrounded child I swore to the divine.

“No matter what, she is mine!”

She is my Shiloh Lux. She is Peace and Light!

Daughter of the most loveliest kind!

Then.

The five scatter.

You vanish once again.

A messenger walks toward us, your daddy's heart and him.

Heart was still choking on despair.

“She is perfect.” The nurse warmly declared.

"DAMN RIGHT SHE IS!” Daddy and his heart screamed, both breathing deep.

Resting H.R.x2

Then time bends.

I look down and see a piece of heaven in my arms, our pulses suspend.

My heart with a broad smile says, "Thank God, no need for alarm."

———

It was true, true love

At first sight.

From Mommy’s now, twice healed, womb.

The rhythms of our beats still bloom.

My Daughter

Your Daddy's heart beats for you.

A Piece of Heaven

Now she leads the way!

Look…I just love my kids. Hope you enjoyed the trip!!

Also…we share the same exact birthday;)

love poems
2

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.