Poets logo

Shame

Tilted rose

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Shame
Photo by Dương Trần Quốc on Unsplash

to me, I feel your aroma

lies dormant in winter

Smooth, dreamy blue ice.

I want

I desperately needed

Your rose aroma in your mouth,

Gorgeous flower.

By Jovica Ilievski on Unsplash

I want to squeeze that essence and drink it in.

I want to lift up those dandelion legs and blow at your head, seeds exposed.

It’s

Dipped

In

Lazy, summertime shame.

Oh, that sort of shame that kills my very organs,

Squeezing them tighter and

Squelching them with grips of the green agony

That wraps around my heart like

Forceps,

Like my Creator, I have shame,

Yes, I feel shame.

I’m a tilted rose bowing before you,

And I want to bend

Bend so far, I break,

I will bottle up that fragrance, that idea of your beautiful canvas, your incense in my heart—-a true heart warming comfort.

The immortal whisper of your fresh heart

Lies within those, dreamy, smoky sunshine drops, golden and yet wintery, I dream of that comfort every time I see that bit of yellow

only to have candle it away

like a blown out promise.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler2 years ago

    I love the use of candle as a verb at the end. Reminiscent of the wisp of smoke that dances about the wick and fades after one blows out the candle, as it seems you intended.

  • Loved this line so much: I’m a tilted rose bowing before you

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding love poem. Lovin your line, "I will bottle up the fragrance." 💖💕

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    I like the analogy of the rose.🌹Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.