Poets logo

Fires of Columbia

Your fires set me ablaze

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Fires of Columbia
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

your glory rained down on my shoulders.

Your vanity hit my face like a bright, unapologetic sun.

My fires set you dreaming, setting the bar higher.

Why must you look at me

Like a real, good man?

Why must your eyes go soft and

Drain my water

Drain my fire

Drain my cold dark night

Into a nightmarish, Birth of Venus

Wherein;

I lie naked on the bubbling, frothy stream

Open like a clam

Waiting for you to snatch me up.

Claim me.

But instead, I decay as I breathe,

I decay as I think I am real.

We were wrought from the fires of

Columbia.

Rage, pain, no tears, just lifting that enormous weight off

You

So you can slowly move it on top of me.

I never felt it, no,

Just your dense, licking, frantic fire

cauterizing

Off my nerves

So all I could really feel or understand

Was you.

art
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Sweet and lovely

  • Hassan2 years ago

    This is really good!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is fantastic, Melissa. Well done, indeed.

  • Wow, just wow, I'm mesmerised by this poem of yours. It was absolutely fantastic!

  • Oh my, that is a powerful poem!

  • Just stunning , need i say more sis ?

  • Limbic synchrony is a difficult thing and many of us are unaware of its effects. In my own life, I've come to wonder, so far as human interaction is concerned: when mirror regards mirror, which is the reflection?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.