Poets logo

Shakespeare, Soaked

or, The Hazards of Outdoor Theater

By Candice BellowsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Shakespeare, Soaked
Photo by Erik Witsoe on Unsplash

To see a Shakespeare play we three were bound:

My mother, brother, and age-fifteen me.

But at the outdoor theater, we found

'Twould our own Comedy of Errors be.

The play's beginning was delayed a while,

For lightly raining was the summer sky.

Then fin'lly, out the actors all did file.

We laughed so hard I thought that I might cry.

At intermission, rain fell like cement.

A cancellation, we feared it'd presage.

But, underneath a picnic-blanket tent,

We saw umbrellas open on the stage.

The Comedy of Errors--aptly named.

That night lives in my fam'ly lore in fame.

art
2

About the Creator

Candice Bellows

I help independent authors write, edit, and self-publish career-building books. I self-published my first book, The Year-Round Pillow Cover, in June 2020. I also contributed the chapter “Editing” to Indie Writing Wisdom (December 2020).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.