Poets logo

Shadow Song

Comforting familiar dark

By Laura ToddPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Long I've waited for the ground to open up

Feet to betray me at the first untested step

Missed the sunrise

Hidden meridian

Never thinking to look up

So I walked along in my own shadow

Comforting familiar dark

Trying to stay in

To keep the glow from my skin

Holding you in my shadow 

Greeted the sun every day, as easily 

As landing on the moon, alone and falling free 

Hidden dark side 

Of an empty world 

Never could I see the light 

Envied all for being other than me

Pushed away, believing I couldn't keep

Missed my apex

Craving sunsets

Never hoping to wake up

You showed me the sky

When I thought there was no way but down

You gave me a why

When reason wasn't keeping me around 

I need you now, so stick around

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.