Poets logo

Shades of my Soul

A poem

By Emily Cameron Published 3 years ago 2 min read
2

So many facets and layers untold

The bland and the bold

Kaleidoscope colors inside me will find

That pot full of gold

***

Inspired so easily, I can’t deny

Create till I die

Sweet violets and lilacs in bloom catch my eye

Beginning is easy, to finish is not

A lot goes awry

I can’t help but plot the next project design

Passion far outweighs the talent I’ve got

But passion is mine

***

Getting lost in a story, a chapter or two

A new point of view

When good blurs with evil, a riveting scene

A dazzling hue

Half purple half blue

Beginning and end and the pages between

The places I’ve been

The books I accrue

***

Every so often my mood seems to wilt

My axis to tilt

I feel like I’m sinking deep down in the blue

Chained to such guilt

Unsure what to do

I creep to the darkness to curl up and sleep

No need to count sheep

Just hide behind walls that I’ve built

***

The clouds always part and the sun shines anew

Wipe off the dew

A new day is dawning and spring will come through

Lush green and caffeine will usher in hope

I refine my scope and take in the view

Breathe in the air, refreshing and clean

Beyond quarantine

I’m able to cope

***

The sun shines on all of us, pure golden light

Accepting and bright

Rejoice in our differences share in the pain

Shelter from rain

I want to embrace the lost and displaced

And those out of sight

This world should have space for all to be free

Ignite their true colors with kindness and grace

***

The sun is now setting, a tangerine sky

Time sure flies by

I didn’t accomplish enough from my list

The chores I have missed, I breathe out a sigh

But housework is endless, relentless, a bore

To sweep up the floor

The dust will persist

I can’t just exist

I’d much rather soar

***

My highest priorities come from the heart

With those who take part

Deep crimson, it circulates love through my veins

Over mountains and plains

If far apart

I know what’s important, authentic and smart

I think with my brain

But live by my heart

***

I can’t quite define the spectrum of me

From sorrow to glee

At the end of my rainbow the treasures that wait

Are two little girls, descendants of fate

Who amplify frequencies filling my life

Intensify colors and cut like a knife

Eternally grateful to powers that be

I’ll try my best

When put to the test

To be the best mom I can be

I’m truly blessed

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Emily Cameron

Engineer by day, writer by night, exhausted mom all the time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.