Poets logo

Shades Of Grief

Dripping In Sorrow

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

A heavy weight blooms here in my chest

Videlicet, air escaping the room

Trials in life, make a sinner confess

While its greed quickly consumes the gloom

Grief finds a way of filtrating the bones

like the air that diffuses my lungs

Casually stealing all sense of hope

severing the voice of my tongue

Oozes and bleeds from a wound that won't heal

permeating everything that I grasp

Deeply eroding every feeling I feel

binding my spirit tightly in its clasp

Immeasurably immersed in a season of gray

the trauma finds solace in red

Draping me wholly in its velvet display

replaying the scenes in my head

What I used to was once now is over

what I am still remains to be seen

Searching for promise in fields of clover

grasping for someone that I've never been

*

videlicet: that is to say; namely (used especially to introduce examples, details, etc.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Baker5 months ago

    Videlicet...I like writing that introduces me to new words. Good job on this poem!

  • Oooo, videlicet! That's such a pretty word! "Trauma finds solace in red" is my favourite line!

  • May you find it, may it be soon, & may it be beyond spectacularly awesome.

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    What a raw and deeply poetic depiction of grief! This made quite an impression!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.