Poets logo

Sestina: Love at First Sight

(-Singing)

By Paul MerkleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Class first-year music, each to each unknown

Tough task to singly sing notes right at sight

While beating counter rhythm at same time

Much nervousness full filled the anxious air

Rough syncopation in each tested heart

A tense performance, then a lowly mark

Your voice, those eyes, fair face I did remark

Rare girl to me entirely unknown

Surprising thoughts quick primed my stirring heart

I sat, transfixed, and frozen at your sight

Remarking turgid trembling of the air

As unknown source tapped out my languid time

It slowed, then seemed to halt, this tempered time

Quick caught my mind and sternly made me mark

Pulsation merciless in trenchant air

A pairing fixed, though still to me unknown

Unmuted, soul began to sing at sight

Unsought came urgent beating of my heart

Can one command a telltale, throbbing heart?

Its noiseless din showed no regard for time

Then stopped, expectant, at your single sight

As unknown hand made unknown, searing mark

By unknown art and temperatures unknown

While your voluptuous voice keen rent the air

Consumed by voice, eyes, mouth, and luscious hair

What was a year to my invaded heart?

Together set our sails for parts unknown

Strange voyages through manifolds of time

Not thinking what vicissitudes might mark

Scant thought tomorrow, always out of sight

Your hard departure has not dimmed that sight

Though absent, dreams of you inflame my air

Exciting etchings that your love did mark

Upon my ardent, syncopated heart

Illusion space, and true illusion, time

My outcome’s sure, though date and year unknown

Envoi

Dreamt sight, thought, sound of you infects my heart

The air beats quickly slowly through this time

I mark each day, your whereabouts unknown

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Paul Merkley

Co-Founder of Seniors Junction, a social enterprise working to prevent seniors isolation. Emeritus professor, U. of Ottawa. Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Founder of Tower of Sound Waves. Author of Fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.