Poets logo

Serrated Masochism

Stranded Without Gods, POEM 10

By Patrick SantiagoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/59883870026960299/

I yell to the sky, the thunder is my rhyme

I cry in the dark, the rain is my sorrow

I curse at the wind, the hurricane is my fury

I blind myself with shut eyes, the fog is my guide

I am the anchor without ship, sinking to depths no lung could bear

I am the canker sore brushing at teeth, the raw meat rings as it tears

I am the serrated skin no slice from a knife would dare

I am the experiment incited by masochism

A human flaw regarded as curiosity

A curiosity incited by habit

A habit conceived in hypocrisy

I am the tired hands too heavy for prayer, holding the planchette

I am the recovering addict placing a bet

I am the tattoo on bruised skin

I am the fatty liver inundating in whiskey

I am the poet intimate with self inflicted pain, because that's where true inspiration is...

I am the poor man with too much too give

I am the wealth of the youth too eager to throw it away

I am the pellet of stone surrounded by oceans

I am the masochist, and a survivor, standing in perpetuity with change

…and yet only give license to the one that profits from pain...

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Santiago

Just a person saved by words on a page hoping he can do the same for someone else...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.