Poets logo

Serendipitous Moons

Neath the Twins I Wonder

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Serendipitous Moons
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

Serendipitous Moons

Here on our newly tamed planetary home

Settled once from earth mankind didst roam

Bathing beneath twin moons stand I

Basking in the dancing rays which catch my eye

Here mauve freckled cattle mixed with lavender

Provide for our people much provender

Newly discovered minerals provide us wealth

As once strange plants now benefit our health

Fondly my sight seeks out a transplanted owl’s flight

As he seeks new types of rodents with same old plight

Is he as wise as people once claimed?

If so, I could wish we had a trait so famed

We left behind a planet mankind had wrecked

To find a new home less woefully bedecked

Seventeen years my great grandparents didst fly

To reach a new home with a smog free sky

Hardships they met, dangers overcome

Here on Serendipity, our more pristine home

We have built a refuge from our troubled past

Beneath a cloudless sky in a galaxy vast

Behind me a crackle in foliage damp

My lady has deigned to join me from out tented camp

Come my love I say, kissing her reddened cheek

I take her hand knowing she is what I truly seek

Our society is not perfect, for still we are human

But we vowed in this new habitat to be less an intrusion

For her sake as well as our children to come

I swear to protect and preserve this our new home

*********************************************

If you enjoy my writing, check out my author page at Amazon.com:

https://www.amazon.com/stores/Andrew-C-McDonald/author/B005MXG90K?ref=ap_rdr&store_ref=ap_rdr&isDramIntegrated=true&shoppingPortalEnabled=true

Thanks for reading. :-)

social commentarynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Your poem was so breathtakingly beautiful! I loved it so much!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.