Poets logo

Sequel to cracked glass mug

Some details I should share

By SynecdochePublished 16 days ago 1 min read
1
Sequel to cracked glass mug
Photo by TEAcreativelife │ Soo Chung on Unsplash

now look at the color of that tea

Imagine it spilling from the fatal wound in the beautiful glass

All over my counter.

I cried because the image made me sad. I was so looking forward

To drinking from that mug

My former beloved, deceased maybe six years from cancer

Loved cobalt glass

And it reminded me of her

Sitting in a gallery somewhere

Appreciating and explaining

With humor and with patience

How to see beauty

I never needed much help there

Triple libra me

And she was the most beautiful id ever seen.

I miss her

And I don’t want to lose her altogether

There was much more in that mug than just tea

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Synecdoche

I’m an artist... retired professional singer and stage actor, a writer, a bead artist, a sculptor, collage-er, I make accessories, am an activist and organizer, amateur chef (key word here is, “amateur,”) and Auntie extraordinaire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Synecdoche (Author)16 days ago

    I canceled my socials so I cut down my political carbon footprint. It’s making me crazy. But I wanted the original poem and this, its sequel , to read sort of like an old fashioned Facebook status update.

  • Brilliant work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.