Poets logo

Self Care

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Self Care
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

Everyone goes one by one to the bar

To show off what they can do, which I can’t

So each and every one is a known star

While I stay back here, to myself I chant

//

And listen to myself in my own space

Knowing that it’s not even worth trying

Unless I want to fall flat on my face

For a week to myself I’ve been crying

//

About something no one should know about

How weak I am compared to all of them

Can’t even do ten, without any doubt

But someone tells me to join the mayhem

//

Well, guess I don’t have a choice anymore

Music away, I stand up and approach

Everyone’s looking from across the floor

For this, just once, I’ll take any reproach

//

One! Went too far and wasted energy.

Two! No one cares. They’re staring intensely.

Three! Excellent arm and lung synergy!

Four! Distractions fade away immensely.

//

Five! Going at it and still going strong!

Six! Elbows bent, music playing, chin up.

Seven! Arms heating, right where I belong.

Eight! It’s getting hard to lift myself up.

//

Come on, nine! Stuck hanging just halfway.

Can't go up, but I won’t let myself down.

Everyone’s staring now, watching me stay

Firmly in place, no judgment all around

Besides c heering my determination

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.