Poets logo

Cliffside Tide

I Carry Something I Already Discarded

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cliffside Tide
Photo by Polina Kuzovkova on Unsplash

Why can’t I stand upright

When I’ve already cut the rope

That squeezed my neck tight

Shouldn’t I be at the top of the slope

//

Nothing’s holding me down

Beneath the crashing waves

But I’m still scared to drown

And be sent to the others’s graves

//

I don't want to see their face again

That’s exactly why I let them go

They nearly sent me spiraling down the drain

Pinning me down when the tide would blow

//

Why, when I’m no longer suppressed

Can I not raise myself above the crest?

heartbreaknature poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.