Poets logo

Seeking Love in an Empty Space

Woman, Why Weepest Thou? Whom Seekest Thou?

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
15
Seeking Love in an Empty Space
Photo by Ed Leszczynskl on Unsplash

And it shall be at that day, saith the Lord, that thou shalt call me Ishi; and shalt call me no more Baali. -Hosea 2:16

***************************************************************

Adam for Eve and you for me,

But what if I'm a bird without a bee?

Everyone lusts for forbidden fruit,

But, what if I am just destitute?

Solitude, peace, and cool air of night,

Away from the hot, sticky delight.

Alone on my bedsheets reading the stars,

Without cages, iron, and threatening bars.

You come to me as the dawn breaks day,

You silence my words, don't heed what I say.

This silence is killing me, deep in my soul,

Whether alone or together my eyes are so dole.

My heart, it cries, like a wolf does howl,

As I hear your vicious, hungry growl.

Leave me alone, I say to the Earth,

Let me sleep in peace and never give birth.

What fruit of my loins could bring me joy?

Whether a smiling girl, or playful boy?

I smile alone at the shimmering sky,

And think of those who've perished and died.

Why do I ponder such mysteries now?

Because living's a struggle, I do not know how.

You come to me with sickly sweet kisses,

Coated in lies which my spirit dismisses.

Away from me now, all who would love,

My spirit returns to the waters above.

***************************************************************

"And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold." Jesus

love poems
15

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    'what if I'm a bird without a bee?' is such a genius line

  • So, so beautiful.

  • I had tears in my eyes by the end. This was really emotive and powerful. Well done, Emily ✨🤍

  • What the Song of Solomon becomes after the vanity of vanities of Ecclesiastes takes root & whelms over.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This is everything poetry should be. Beautifully and skillfully written, Emily!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I absolutely adored this poem, Emily! So much love, so much longing...a lot of emotion poured into it. Well done!

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    You've really captured that feeling of loneliness and questioning. Really thoughtfully done. Great work.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!!👏💖💕

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Nearly just repeated what Heather said, but it is a beautifully heartfelt piece. Make sure everyone gets the chance to read this

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Beautifully written! Well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.