Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

see

(me)

By Sara Published 7 months ago 1 min read
see
Photo by William Warby on Unsplash

i stopped eating

the day i met

you

and i never

started again.

it is strange

why i thought

being smaller

would make you

notice me.

you looked at me

sometimes

and my chest

felt light

and i walked

on air

until you would

leave me on the ground

when you were

done with my body.

you cared

enough to fill me up

but not enough

to stay.

and my mind said

maybe if my hair

was longer

my waist

smaller

my eyes

brighter

you would stay.

i wanted you to.

i needed you to.

so i counted

steps and wrappers

until there were none.

if you see me now

it is too late.

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    They only see us when it's too late. Such a heartbreaking poem!

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.