Poets logo

wasteland

(my heart)

By Sara Published 7 months ago 1 min read
wasteland
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

my heart

is a wasteland

open graves

yawning chasms

of empty

bare trees

where words

used to be.

i get lost

wandering

the endless roads

grey skies

once torn asunder

by bolts of

lightning

beautiful storms

but now there is

silence.

i do not know

tomorrow

from today

because the last

thing you said

was goodbye -

but not forever

so now my heart

lies really still

in case

you need to

find me.

you will need

to follow

the trail of blood

i left

as i ran

to you

from you

climb the walls

i built

around me

because you

broke me.

i know the sound

of your soul

and i play it

to the withered mountains.

do not come

to look for me

because i will

let you

find me.

artlove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    "As I ran to you from you" Gosh that hit me hard

  • Alisha Wilkins7 months ago

    Beautiful words.

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.