Poets logo

Secret Slumber

Poem

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
15

May sound keep us alive in a night prevailing with forethought

In a sliver of an outcome

Where all things determined by a thread of hope

For causeway knows none

Poor crease on a shoulder from sleeping in the rough

No tears of shame

None to drink the skies by

Only silver threads to reach golden dreams

Men that turn tables on themselves

Pitch the roof for forefront of their own marbles

That circle only egos

To which throw cans at

But bow anyway

Even lucifer had his day

And for now creatures toil in rubble

Suit yourself Suit

Matador my friend be not the person cramped, be aware

No mission ever sauntered a street alone

Where possible the conduct is only the feather

In secret slumber

*

This poem is about laying down to sleep listening to the music and the rain and thinking ahead and wondering about a man, and men who made mistakes and then try for understanding. Who is evil, who is a hero, then, does it matter because I am going to sleep anyway.

Copyright © 2023 Lisa A Lachapelle. All rights reserved.

Lachapelle’s links: Vocal Stories & Website

Leave a tip or a pledge if you wish to and I in turn will wish for you.

If you would like to be updated on all my writing just sign in to Vocal for free and click Subscribe on my work. Or brighten my day with an email [email protected]. Seeking An Art Patron, for details, just ask.

inspirationalhow to
15

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Yep. What Randy said. Read a few times. Think I got it. Men turning tables on themselves in particular. Reading it again. Wow, this is deep. So many meanings. Very interesting read.

  • Pauline Fountain12 months ago

    Extremely intriguing and beautifully written. I was kind of in a trance reading lost in your words rather than meaning … ‘Where all things determined by a thread of hope …’ I have reread a few times. Not trying to conceive your implied meaning but to find my own. If that makes sense? I was very thankful to read Randy’s comment and then your detailed reply. Deconstructing your intentions. Thorough enjoyed!! Pauline 🌸

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    Oh, I adore this. Gorgeous language and beautiful pacing. Everything felt deliberate in this poem. I was absolutely transported. 💓

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    Interesting poem, Lisa! I feel that it could be the foreword to a novel...

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is beautiful, Lisa. Well done.

  • As always, your poems are so deep and beautifully written!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I like how you used the feather, to describe a peaceful slumber

  • I'm feeling really dense right now, as just when I think I'm catching the drift of where you're going you change directions on me. Okay, full disclosure, you change directions long before I even begin to catch your drift. Maybe it's the hour. But can you give me a clue? Your flow of language with continuous unexpected turns of phrase reminds me of a hymn I once wrote for a class on the Holy Spirit in seminary. In every moment of the piece I made sure that there were either passing or neighboring tones so that there could never be a moment of rest where continuing movement was no longer required until the very end, emulating our professor's description of the Holy Spirit. His wife played piano. She told him it was unplayable. Your poem does not strike me as unreadable, I don't want you to hear what I'm saying in that way. The language & cadences you use, along with those unexpected turns of phrase are both mesmerizing & jarring, creating an astonishing effect even if the words carry no further meaning. But I'd still love to know what it's about, lol!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Very well done. 🤎

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.