Poets logo

Second Chance In The Forgiveness Fame Game

The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
"The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle" by Lithuanian/American author and poet Marc O'Brien

Yesterday, all I wanted was

An evening full of buzz

Entertaining romantic

Honest candid

But what I got spending my money

Was not warm and sunny

Instead, a joker who dreamed they were funny

Came up to me with a mike

Said, ‘psych’

Following the big lead

Writing for a magazine thinking all will see

Mentioned my challenging past

Before running the track that was fast

Getting a lottery opportunity in the cast

Acting on a high-profile show

Displaying my opinion and what I know

Now experiencing life on the go

I told this curious reporting member

“It was a cold December

There was something haunting my frustrated soul

Ready to stuff my stockings with coal

Yes, I used my plastic prop pea shooter

Against a diabolical intruder

Ever ruder

It went pop

Next morning there was an officer cop

Asking questions about this snot”

Stating “I did not commit

This crime in a raging fit

Instead,

Reason the bad person is dead

Shot right in the head

Enough said”

Spent a spell

Behind bars in a cell

Then shipped off to a juvenile place

Getting cured building a plausible case

Released feeling grace

Last night the New Year ball dropped

Anger in me stopped

I have been free for awhile

Walking rehabilitation mile

Granted a position

Fantasy role handed to someone wishing,

Appearing image showing the best

Not in handcuffs under arrest

But what about the guy from the press?

Being a torturous pest

“I told you the truth

About when things hit the roof,”

I did say

Early morning New Year’s Day

Giving way

Allowing a positive daylight ray

To clear up the subject, cloudy and gray

Understand I did not bury this horrible incident in the grave

While strutting a red carpet presenting a wave

To my adoring fans

Who may want to hear about when I took a stand

Defending my home

All alone

One holiday night

When finances were tight

Creating tension triggering a fight

And like a knight

Made a quick decision where nothing was all right

Peace in sight

Resting here

Lots to cheer

Nothing anymore to fear

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc OBrienWritten by Marc OBrien

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.