Poets logo

Sea of Painted Faces

What will you see when you look at me?

By Holly PheniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Sea of Painted Faces
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

Sailing on a sea of painted faces,

Bailing water from my barely floating vessel, paddling desperately,

Hoping my boat is more than the paper mache of which my own mask is fashioned.

If my mask gets wet, everyone will see

I’m not the real me.

If I stop bailing, I’ll sink.

I sail past harbor after harbor,

none of them are safe --

not a single one.

Their voices mock and chide, like off-key chimes in the wind,

The wind that whips against my mask, reinforcing the urge to hide my eyes.

Some of the painted faces smile amusingly, like jesters or clowns,

others wear teardrops, or even a scowl.

Some scream like masks on Halloween,

others sparkle, Look at me! See me! Be pleased with me! Love me!

All are masks, just the same. Hide the pain

or show off the pain to hide the shame.

Maybe they’ll only notice what I willingly display.

In this way we are all the same --

Me, and the other painted faces.

What will you see when you look at me?

Will my smile fool you, make you believe

that I’m cleverly winning at this game,

and hey -- not merely winning but enjoying every move?

I’m careless in my urgency.

I splash my friend’s face.

Panic

Her mask melts away, and what do I see but light?

She pierces the night like a lonely candle in a dark empty room.

She leads like the lantern on the night fisherman’s skiff.

Like Polaris, a guiding luminescence for sailors like us.

In her utterly genuine bare naked masklessness I see True North.

I want to be like her,

So I remove my mask and let the salt sea wash over my cheeks, eyelids, mouth, neck,

freckles, scars, stains, blemishes…

The painted faces stare at us,

Glowing on the water like twin lighthouses,

showing the way to safe harbor,

and in that moment most exposed, most unguarded, uncovered,

becoming safe harbor.

Becoming safe.

One by one, another mask melts into the salt sea, and another,

and ever brighter the light shines.

inspirationalslam poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed the honesty of this poem. Great work!

  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Enthralling, a friend really is an awesome thing to have.

Holly PheniWritten by Holly Pheni

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.