Poets logo

Paper Crane

I bow, I fold, I crease

By Holly PheniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
58
Paper Crane
Photo by Daniel Álvasd on Unsplash

I am a paper crane bowing.

Origami

Neck bent

Wings sharply angled

Every crease a pain

All in the name of peace.

Every shouted insult

Every unveiled threat

Every moment lived

in the tight-squeezing grip of rage

Every pang of loss and grief

When again my dreams of peace were torn like paper

Made me this sharp

pointed

jagged

bent

folded and unfolded and refolded

Creature of many points of view.

Or many points.

Many angles, each one promising peace around the next corner

One more fold

One more wrinkle.

I crane a thousand times over, yet where is peace? I bow

Yet you never fold, you never bend, you never seem like paper.

Bits of me strung together

Blowing in the wind

One more for peace

A thousand more.

One more day in hope

One more night shuddering in cold

One more question crying to the void

“Will you ever be peace? Will you ever be love?”

You were my Hiroshima.

I tried to save us

My peace offerings were paper set ablaze

My neck no more folds at a sharp angle.

I am not a paper crane bowing.

I am something that can look up and fly away.

heartbreakslam poetryinspirational
58

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    This became unexpectedly full-on! Excellent work full of feeling! 😊👍

  • Terrific work ❤️💯🫶🏾🎊Congratulations on your Top Story🦋

  • For many years, I was a paper crane bowing. Now I'm learnings to look up and fly away. Loved your poem so much!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really love that you ended this on a positive note; this poem was very relatable with wonderful, beautiful symbolism. Great work! :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very interesting. Outstanding symbolism.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    wow. This is fabulous. Really well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This really resonated. I love that you ended it with strength. The imagery and word choices were incredibly well done. Truly wonderful work :)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    All in the name of peace. Fantastic. I felt every crease and fold, and the prospect of being free to fly away, enlightening and tremendously freeing. I loved this

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Stunning and so, so moving. ❤️

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Such vivid imagery. More of this, please!

  • Nice

  • Tambo Lini2 years ago

    This was too good! thanks for sharing it

  • Roca Ford2 years ago

    So great!

  • test2 years ago

    Origami as art and ceremony for post-traumatic shock. Culturally accurate. A lot of Japanese culture (and zazen) is about little else; and much the world should be grateful. And for thee.

  • Love this, thank you for sharing…

  • John Eva2 years ago

    This was too good! thanks for sharing it

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    I love this!! Very creative, powerful, and captivating!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    I remember folding cranes for a friend's mother who was quite ill. I have lost the skill, but I am tempted to relearn it now. A wonderful poem.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Wow, that was beautiful

  • Such careful and beautiful use of words, amazing piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.