Poets logo

Comfort: a double-bladed sword

Fire: a satisfying alternative

By Holly PheniPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Comfort: a double-bladed sword
Photo by Leon Contreras on Unsplash

If not for heat, and rain, and freeze,

Acorns wouldn’t turn to trees.

If not for leaving my comfort zone,

I’d not look up to find I’d grown.

Comfort may conceal stagnation,

Recoiling at every unpleasant sensation.

Forgive me if my words are jaded:

The sword of comfort is double-bladed.

Say run the bath and light the fire,

A cup of tea to quell the ire.

Tell stories from my childhood,

Furry friends who dwell the wildwood.

Talk of mother’s homemade pies,

Of rain or sunny summer skies.

Don’t let’s forget to speak of pets,

Who comfort you and I,

Yet I…

I choose for myself a way untraveled,

Trade velvet carpets for paths of gravel.

And though uncertain the road may be,

I choose the uncomfortable road for me.

The challenge that would make me braver,

Conquering that which made me waver.

Fearful, lofty are my goals,

As crushing waves on jagged shoals.

The flame that lifts the lantern higher--

Such shall be my inner fire.

When facing lions, tigers, bears,

My voice shall out-roar all of theirs.

Not to seek out fame or fortune!

Grace and love shall be my portion.

A better version of myself

Cannot be bought with comfort’s “wealth.”

If I should grow, if I should fight,

If I survived grief’s lonely night--

Then let my hopes not shrink to safety,

Life without an “if” or “maybe.”

If comfort ever should become,

The satiating daily thrum --

The candle lit beside the tub,

The teddy when I was a cub,

Suppertime and bedtime snuggles,

Days devoid of pains and struggles --

If comfort be what settles me,

Would visions, dreams, then cease to be?

Would I forget to live for more

Than picket fence and painted door?

Would comfort then beget this fear,

As my final hour ticks ever near,

To live without a chance or risk,

While dreams become an asterisk?

Why in comfort should I wait

For a stone with a line between two dates--

Wait in shelter and inward spoil

All to end beneath the soil?

No!

Let it count, each day each breath.

I shall be comforted in death,

Recalling a life unsheltered, free!

The uncomfortable path is the way for me.

slam poetry
5

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    'If comfort be what settles me, Would visions, dreams, then cease to be?' This whole piece was amazing with so many wonderful lines that really made me stop and think, but I loved this line the most. Great work!

  • test2 years ago

    "I shant reveal that secret kept; nor blood, nor tear for tear: regret; I shall no rent from this my breast; no more than called, than stole, nor less." The exacting nature of this verse makes me wonder if you have matriculated with some order of witchery. Hail Satan.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    Such a great entry into this challenge, good job!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    The road less traveled? Nice.

  • Jacob Sherman2 years ago

    This one struck to the core, and the iron was hot — keep hammering, well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.