Poets logo

School Daydreams

A Love Born

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
School Daydreams
Photo by Jeffrey Hamilton on Unsplash

The school window is inviting

Drawing my tired eyes

As I peer through the smeared glass

Whilst trying to stifle my tired sighs

***

The classroom full and boring

As the teacher drones on and on

About subjects that hold no interest

From class, I feel withdrawn

***

I wipe my woollen sleeved hand

Across the dirt-streaked view

And watch my lovely Julie

Playing hockey with her fiery crew

***

To a backdrop of deep breaths

Sighs, and murmurs

With half of my classmates watching the clock

Whilst the rest stare at the door

***

I nod to the teacher in feigned earnest

As though hanging on his every word

Whilst my eyes drift back to the hockey pitch

Where my brunette beauty has me bewitched

***

Her beauty and wild spirit

The wind in her long hair

Her hockey stick swings back and forth

As she laughs without a care

***

Through the mists of time, I see her

The wild beauty of my school days

Not tamed by time or life’s trials

As she winks and returns my gaze,

***

As she takes our daughter by the hand

To safely cross the street

My daughter’s hockey stick held aloft

In giggling triumph and joy

***

My daughter inherited her mum’s looks

Her hockey skills to be sure

The calmness she gets from me

And the sense of humour I so adore

***

The family I call my own

Helps my spirits soar

I owe it all to my seat by the window

On that boring class of yore

love poems
12

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.