Poets logo

Scammed by Vocal

Hurt feelings

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
24
Scammed by Vocal
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

If there was anything else to be sure of, it was the Vocal Awards 🏆

My Hopes were High,

So was my Pride…

I campaigned for more money, just to give it a try…

Now I wonder if I should've listened to the creators, who told me to pay it no mind…

Instead I Submitted and Submitted to bet on Myself…

I am a Top Creator and I didn't make the cut ✂️ 😳

What a shame, what a scam,✌️

do I at least get a refund or say that the list needs to be re-done…

Congratulations to the ones who won❗

I would hope for a mistake because I don't want to call it hate 😡

I don't understand how you guys could discourage your own creators-📝

social commentarysurreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
24

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Lots of love Lonzo! <3

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    I’m sorry you didn’t shortlist. You’re definitely talented, Lonzo. I didn’t enter anything- I kinda felt it was a long shot.

  • And now I'm sad. I haven't started reading the stories yet as it's been hectic. Blessings & hugs to you, my friend.

  • Waiting to see if they're bold enough to make this one a Top Story

  • Rasma Raisters7 months ago

    Sorry for the disappointment and sending you virtual hugs, Chin up you'll win one day!

  • I'm so sorry 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Deasun T. Smyth7 months ago

    I get that, a lot of people don't enter because the chances of winning are low. And hey, I'm guilty of that to. But I feel like it was worth while, because I didn't know how to write as well. And joining Vocal has really honed my skills. Plus, I wouldn't have had the privilege of getting to read so many great stories and poems. 💯😁👍

  • I see a lot of folks say that they did not enter because of the process, and I get that, but you will win none of the contests you do not enter. My hat is off to you for putting yourself out there and taking a chance, even if the process is flawed. Don't be too disheartened. You know who you are and what your abilities are. Keep moving forward, and pay no attention to the judges behind the curtain!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    The sting is temporarily felt, I know this. But, you are an accomplished writer. You will continue to learn and grow. "If your not winning, you are learning."

  • Thank you, guys, so much for sticking with me and encouraging me, Thanks for the Good Energy 🔋 ♥️💯📝✌️I will Strive 😉I Love Writing❗

  • Misty Rae7 months ago

    This is exactly why I chose not to enter.

  • Test7 months ago

    You are a wonderful writer x But these things are just roulette x You know how to write and engage. Besides all of that you are abeautiful person and these 'Awards' don't and can never change that. Keep doing you. Good things will come, I know it xxx Take care and don't lose your glow x Not over this 🤍🤍🤍

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    You are brilliant; God has your back!

  • Lilly Cooper7 months ago

    It was an interesting process to be a part of. Though I would not participate again. Not being short listed does not mean we are not talented writers ❤️

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    You are still a good creator and nothing or no one can take that away. Keep doing what you do, Loui. Sending you warm hugs.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Sending you 🤗 hugs. Never give up on your dreams. You got talent waiting to be discovered by the right people. Your time will come. I enjoy reading your creations. 🥰

  • Sian N. Clutton7 months ago

    Im sorry you feel this way. I spent a lot of money on the Writing Awards and also didn't make the cut. However, I don't feel I should be refunded. At the end of the day we enter our work to be judged, and the judges might not have been looking for what we had to offer. It does not reflect on your worth as a writer in any way. Getting knock-backs is almost a right of passage in the Writing industry these days. I doesn't mean it's a scam though; we can't all be picked. Saying that, I was surprised that some of the entries made the list. However, others were also brilliant. Don't let it get you down. You know your worth! Don't let it get you down.

  • Test7 months ago

    writing is simply amazing.

  • Vocal just regard me as a cash cow, I promote them and pay my subscriptions and they regard me as nothing. They have their favourites who almost always get chosen. Be like me and nurture and appreciate your amazing audience. I do feel for you

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Sorry. I hear you. I didn't enter anything, I felt the whole thing wasn't for me, and I'm not going to wade in on the voting either, just sidestepping the whole shebang. Feel it for a bit, then dust yourself off, you've got more to offer.

  • Suze Kay7 months ago

    I'm sorry luck wasn't in your favor, Lonzo!

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    Oh, Lonzo, I’m sorry this brought you so much grief. Would it be more helpful to think of this contest not as a scam but as a lottery? There were thousands of entries in each category and only 6 got shortlisted, so the odds were really not in your favor. Maybe next time you’ll get luckier.

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    You're alright man. It's okay to say that You felt like You were scammed. I'm sorry that You didn't recognize Your work in there. I'm sorry that You won't win a couple grand. I know what it's like to submit entry after entry. I know what it's like to have a competition end and feel blue. Trust me dude, You're talking to the guy who submitted well over 100 haikus. You're alright Louii, cause You're still the HandsomePoet. Go on out there and compete in other competitions. Life's more than just Vocal, You know it. Grow it. Grow Your Brand Make a Stand Be more than hopeful Be VOCAL! Step out into the light of Your Life And find other places with which You can send a boatful Of Your hard work that'll eventually be appreciated Cause if You want success, to a lot of us here, You've already made it. Yeah, I get it, I hate it When I loose too. However, it's just a sign that there's more room for me with which I should have grew and Grown into So, don't feel so down and Blue. These internal, infernal, feelings of rage and hate Use that energy for Your locomotive brain to Generate New Ideas and get back to Your Hustle Go on and get out there, flex that Creative Muscle!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    That's why I didn't enter. Sorry, Handsome.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    And people ask me why I did not enter... ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.