Poets logo

Saying Goodbye to a Friend

hopefully not forever

By C. HydePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Saying Goodbye to a Friend
Photo by Ioana Cristiana on Unsplash

Do you remember how things were?

Before things between us felt like a blur?

Do you remember how it felt?

I beg of you to go back, on my knees, I've knelt.

You looked at me and I felt seen,

Our love was chaste, pure, and clean.

I miss so dearly the warmth you gave.

Only our friendship is what I truly crave.

I'll never again have that kind of friend,

You must've just been playing pretend.

But it was real to me,

All 27 versions you see.

Everyone left me, including you,

It's okay I would've left me too.

To me, you are gone, now and forever more.

But I still hope I run into you at the store.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

C. Hyde

(She/her) I'm just an ADHD introvert trying to find an outlet for my writing. I love reading and I only write in my journals, but I'd like to change that.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.