Poets logo

Say it's ok

Good intentions vs reality.

By Deborah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
Say it's ok
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

It's not easy dealing with close friends and family when they have mental health issues. Facebook is full of lofty statements like:

'If you called me at midnight, I'd be here for you.'

' Mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of. Will you share this?'

'My door is always open, and my kettle is always ready.'

And, you know, these things do annoy me. Thousands share and like and say 'yes, I'm all about promoting mental health', but when it comes to it, I mean really comes to it, most people can't help, or cope, or even understand someone else's mental health issues when they really 'show up'. And that's ok. We are difficult, insufferable and we have a problem for every solution. I speak from years and years of experience.

I'm one of the lucky ones who has 'an other half' who can and has dealt with my very worst mental bouts of depression, panic and anxiety, and I am often surprised (and thankful!!) that he stuck around. He doesn't always know what to say or do, but I know he is on my side. I wrote this poem to explain what I mean.

***************************************************

Say it's ok

When I ask

Again

If you mind

That I ask

If it's ok

Again.

~

Say it's ok

When I push and shove

And test

And run

And sigh

And cry

Again.

~

Say it's ok

When I can't

Tell you

What's wrong

That it's just

A sheet of fear

Again.

~

Say it's ok

That you love me

And you know

And you care

And I'm still cute

And worth it

Again.

~

Say it's ok

You're staying

Despite

The fear

And panic

Again.

~

Say it's ok

I believe you

I know

It's hard

And it does

Make a difference

Always.

Thanks for reading. I have a few other pieces on mental health issues, challenges and triumphs. Just click the link to my profile page.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Deborah Robinson

I'm new to the 'writing for real' scene. Previously, I've kept my poetry and writing under wraps in a fancy notebook, but now I've decided to give it a proper go!

I hope you enjoy my work.

Thanks, Deborah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.