Poets logo

Saving face

a slippery slope to madness

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Saving face
Photo by Crazy Cake on Unsplash

Feelings of shame

Feelings of blame

Feelings of inferiority

And ultimately immaturity

-

I gotta think this through

I gotta lie

and cheat

I gotta protect this grace

I gotta slide

and weave

to avoid questions that forever will break me

and my precious image that sustains me

my status and rank in society

how others view me

with respect

but what if they find this out and rebuke me?

What if they find that out and exclude me?

What if my image is forever shattered and gloomy?

What if…

What if…

No matter what I do, I need to keep a hold of this

And never let them notice this inconsistency

persisting in this endless scene

of a farce beyond sustainable

slowly folding over me

shrouding the real me

with a version unrecognisable

obsessed with pulling wool

over judgemental eyes

with constant lies

to bolster his image , but in the end

all he did was pillage

his own life...

his own self...

his own freedom...

his freewill.

social commentary
8

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    a wonderful piece of writing.

  • Omgggg this hit me so hard because it was extremely relatable! And it's soooo exhausting being like this!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Well said!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Definitely true, Mohammed!! So much wasted time and energy.

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    wonderful as always, you have a great and distinct voice.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    It’s very sad when we try to live up to others standard of what we should be. Why do we do that, trying to get others approval when all we need is to accept ourselves as who we are 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.